Hong Kong In Two Days

asdfjghasjdfklzdgn! I’m so excited, but I don’t think the actual reality of it has kicked in. I mean, we only go like once every two or three years, and practically all of our family friends and extended family live there.

I can’t wait to see my grandparents, cousins, aunties and uncles. I can’t wait to walk through massive shopping malls and feel the Hong Kong Christmas atmosphere. I can’t wait to spend Christmas and New Years with everybody. I can’t wait to eat delicious food. I can’t wait to go shopping. I can’t wait to have fun with my cousins – Disneyland and Ocean Park and going biking and swimming and everything. I can’t wait to be in the busy city streets with crowds of people surrounding me. I can’t wait to see and discover so many new places. I can’t wait to live in Hong Kong for three weeks. I CAN’T WAIT! I love it there. It’s like the motherland, my second home. I feel so at ease and at home there, with no troubles or worries.

I haven’t seen and have barely talked to my family there for two years, so I am keen to spend quality time with them. One problem: last time I went, I actually promised everyone that I would start learning Chinese (everyone was pestering me and I felt a bit out of place. I can speak it alright…ish…but I can’t read or write in Chinese) as soon as I got home. I told everyone that the next time I came to HK, I would be fluent in Chinese. Uhm…..two years later, I have gotten even worse and I haven’t written a single Chinese word. I just haven’t had time! I’m so busy with school, dancing, everything. And to be honest I completely forgot about it until like this term. And now my mum is lecturing me about it as well, greeeat. Ah well, I’ll just try to  pick up on as much Chinese as possible while I’m there. We’ll see!

Gotta start on my packing list now. Until next time!

Cerys x

Leave a Reply

